la Galerie du 19M and Paris Good Fashion,  are joining forces this season to design a series of talks and discussions dedicated to the future of fashion. This evening will be an opportunity to explore the dimensions of innovation in fashion and imagine what the sportswear of tomorrow might look like.

Practical info

  • Free event
Last places

Place

la Galerie du 19M — Paris/Aubervilliers

Preparation

For more details, refer to the practical informations.

Sports uniforms represent a genuine field of expression for designers from all over the world, establishing a close dialogue between beauty, aesthetics, and the technical challenges stemming from the need for performance. Integrating technological and ecological innovations is a major challenge for top-level athletes and sportspeople.

 

Featuring: a talk organised by la Galerie du 19M and Paris Good Fashion,  with Stéphane Ashpool, designer, Morin Oluwole, former Global Director of Luxury at Meta, and Caroline David, curator of the Textimoov! / Futurotextiles exhibition moderated by Séga Kanouté, the opening of the Ethical Fashion Triathlon exhibition, a participative workshop by Maison Mourcel, and late-night opening hours of the exhibition.

 

 

Ethical Fashion Triathlon

 

The Ethical Fashion Triathlon is a competition in which the challenge is to create a piece of wearable art, a Parure, from second-hand clothes and objects connected to the practice of sport.

The Ethical Fashion Triathlon is aimed at students from vocational and technical high schools and colleges. It will take place between November 2021 and May 2024 in 6 regions of France whose history is closely linked to that of textiles and fashion.

As this major tour draws to a close, le19M is inviting the Ethical Fashion Triathlon to host an exhibition showcasing the creative and collaborative work developed by students with upcycling designers.
 

 

 

Maison Mourcel

 

Founded in Paris in 2018, Maison Mourcel constructs and deconstructs clothing. Lucie Grand Mourcel, the brand's designer, doesn't believe in throwing things away. A forgotten dress becomes a corset, while a top becomes a pair of trousers. The only rule is that there are no rules. In this way, the brand breaks down the fictional gender barrier, bringing together sport and haute couture, the underground and the everyday in a single piece.

Maison Mourcel uses humour to invent new symbols that bring together fictitious communities in an imaginary world where the de rigueur outfit would be a large modern patchwork with unique, hybrid and non-gendered patterns.  

Their raw material: anything that is no longer in use. Flea markets, thrift shops, and unused wardrobes are the basis of entire collections that give life to unique, 100%-recycled pieces in a world where fast fashion has the upper hand.

Séga Kanouté

 

Séga Kanouté, who goes by @abou_sega on social media, is a multi-talented creative: journalist, editorial consultant, model, stylist, Artistic Director and Creative Director of Niaramy Studio, amongst other roles. His field of expression is clothing and fashion, with a strong interest in history, style, materials, and savoir-faire.

Related events

la Galerie du 19M et Paris Good Fashion s’associent durant cette saison pour penser un cycle de rencontres dédié au futur de la mode. Cette soirée sera l’occasion d’aborder les dimensions d’innovation dans la mode et imaginer ce que pourrait être le vêtement sportif de demain.

Infos pratiques

  • Gratuit
Dernières places

Lieu

la Galerie du 19M — Paris/Aubervilliers

Préparation

Pour plus de détails, consultez les informations pratiques.

L'uniforme sportif représente un véritable terrain d'expression pour les créateurs et créatrices du monde entier, instaurant un dialogue soutenu entre la beauté, l’esthétique et les défis techniques liés à la nécessité de performance. L’intégration des innovations technologiques et écologiques est un enjeu majeur pour les athlètes et sportifs de haut niveau.

 

Au programme : une conférence proposée par la Galerie du 19M et Paris Good Fashion, avec Stéphane Ashpool, créateur, Morin Oluwole, ex-directrice mondiale du luxe chez Meta et Caroline David, commissaire de l’exposition Textimoov ! / Futurotextiles animée par Séga Kanouté, l’inauguration de l’exposition du Triathlon de la Mode éthique, un atelier participatif proposé par Maison Mourcel et l’ouverture nocturne de l’exposition.
 

 

Triathlon de la Mode Éthique

 

Le Triathlon de la Mode Éthique est un concours dont le challenge est la création d’une pièce d’art à porter, une Parure, à partir de vêtements et objets de seconde vie, en lien avec la pratique du sport.

Entre novembre 2021 et mai 2024, le Triathlon de la mode éthique s’adresse aux étudiants des lycées professionnels et techniques ainsi que des écoles supérieures et prend place dans 6 régions de France dont l’histoire est étroitement liée à celle du textile et de la mode.

À l’aune de la fin de cette grande itinérance, le19M invite le Triathlon de la Mode Éthique pour une exposition présentant le travail créatif et collaboratif élaboré par les étudiants avec des designers d’upcycling.

 

 

Maison Mourcel

 

Fondée à Paris en 2018, Maison Mourcel fait et défait le vêtement. Pas question de jeter pour Lucie Grand Mourcel, la créatrice de la marque. Une robe oubliée deviendra un corset lorsqu’un top deviendra un pantalon. La règle : c’est qu’il n’y en a pas. Ainsi, la marque abolit la barrière fictive des genres, réunit en une pièce le sport et la haute couture, l’underground et le quotidien.

L’humour guide Maison Mourcel dans l’invention de nouveaux symboles qui rassemblent des communautés fictives dans un monde imaginaire où la tenue de rigueur serait un grand patchwork moderne aux motifs uniques, hybrides et non-genrés. 

Sa matière première : tout ce qui ne sert plus.  Les marchés aux puces, les brocantes, les friperies et les placards endormis sont la base de collections entières qui donnent vie à des pièces uniques et 100% recyclées dans un monde où la fast-fashion a la part belle.

Séga Kanouté

 

Dictateur Grand Bavardeur connu sous le pseudonyme @abou_sega sur les réseaux sociaux, Séga Kanouté est un véritable couteau suisse créatif : journaliste, consultant éditorial, mannequin, styliste, directeur artistique et directeur créatif de Niaramy Studio et autres facéties.  

Son terrain d’expression est le vêtement, la mode avec un fort intérêt pour l’histoire, le style, la matière et le savoir-faire. 

Événements liés