From 27 March to 16 June 2024, la Galerie du 19M is giving designer Stéphane Ashpool a carte blanche bringing together his creative universe and Métiers d'art know-how.
 
With fashion as its starting point, the exhibition Figure Libre. Stéphane Ashpool showcases multi-disciplinary works (fashion, photography, video, music, etc.) extended by different cultural and artistic events designed featuring guest artists and performers.

Practical info


Place

la Galerie du 19M - Paris/Aubervilliers

Preparation

For more details, refer to the practical information.

This season celebrates the power of the collective and the need for knowledge-sharing, one of le19M’s key values. It is an opportunity to discover how sportswear can be an art form, an approach that is not only technical responding to the body’s need to move freely in search of performance—but also a visual celebration that honours the body through the choice of fabrics and ornamentation that celebrate athletic prowess.
 
To coincide with the exhibition, la Galerie du 19M is organising a series of practical workshops to help visitors discover the Métiers d’art as well as talks and weekend events bringing together artists, craftspeople, and performers working with movement.

Stéphane Ashpool

 

Stéphane Ashpool was born in 1982 in the Pigalle district of Paris to a Yugoslavian dancer mother and an English sculptor father. He made his name as a fashion designer with the Pain O’Chokolat collective and the sportswear brand Pigalle Paris, through which he has collaborated with Nike and Missoni, among others. He designed “Playground Duperré”, a colourful basketball court created in place of a former car park near his old school in Pigalle. In 2015, he received the grand prize from the Association nationale pour le développement des arts de la mode (Andam) and was awarded a year’s mentoring in several of le19M’s Métiers d’art workshops.

Related events

Du 27 mars au 16 juin 2024, la Galerie du 19M invite le créateur Stéphane Ashpool à une carte blanche, à la croisée de son univers créatif et des savoir-faire des Métiers d'art.

 

Avec la mode comme point de départ, l’exposition « Figure Libre. Stéphane Ashpool » donne à voir des œuvres pluridisciplinaires (mode, photographie, vidéo, musique…) amplifiées de façon ponctuelle par des événements culturels ou artistiques conçus avec des artistes et performeurs invités.

Infos pratiques

  • Gratuit

Lieu

la Galerie du 19M — Paris/Aubervilliers

 

Préparation

Pour plus de détails, consultez les informations pratiques.

Cette saison célèbre la puissance du collectif et la nécessité de la transmission, l’une des valeurs clé du 19M. Elle propose de découvrir la façon dont l’habillement des sportifs peut être un art, une approche non seulement technique — qui répond aux besoins impérieux du corps de bouger avec aisance dans une quête de performance—mais aussi une célébration visuelle mettant le corps à l’honneur par le choix d’étoffes, de tissus et d’ornementations célébrant la prouesse.

 

En écho à l’exposition, la Galerie du 19M programme des ateliers pratiques de découverte des Métiers d’art, des conférences avec des temps forts les weekends, réunissant artistes, artisans et performeurs qui travaillent sur le mouvement.

Stéphane Ashpool

 

Stéphane Ashpool est né en 1982 dans le quartier de Pigalle à Paris, d’une mère danseuse yougoslave et d’un père sculpteur anglais. Il s’est fait connaître comme créateur de mode avec le collectif Pain O’Chokolat et la marque de sportswear Pigalle Paris avec laquelle il a collaboré avec Nike et Missoni notamment. Il imagine “Playground Duperré” un terrain de basket coloré, créé à la place d’un parking près de son ancienne école, à Pigalle. En 2015, il reçoit le grand prix de l’Association nationale pour le développement des arts de la mode (Andam) et obtient un an de mentorat au sein de plusieurs ateliers des Métiers d’art du 19M.

Événements liés